Legal Elite of the Upstate

A Veteran-Owned Business

'Top 40 Under 40' award by The National Trial Lawyers

Seal of the Million Dollar Advocates Forum


Call Us For Free Consultation



Hit and Run Accidents in South Carolina

The Carolina Law Group > Blog  > Hit and Run Accidents in South Carolina

Hit and Run Accidents in South Carolina

The community of Beech Island, South Carolina is still recovering from the death of a teen killed in a hit-and-run accident on January 14th. Ryan Isaac Kelly hit the 15-year-old before leaving the scene but was later arrested; he has since posted a $50,000 bond and was released.

This tragic event was ruled an accident, but that doesn’t mean Kelly won’t have consequences for his part in the hit and run. The penalties for leaving the scene of an accident can be severe under South Carolina law, including a felony charge and 10 years in prison for accidents resulting in bodily injury or up to 25 years in prison for accidents resulting in death.

What if you’re the victim of a hit and run?

Although hit and run accidents that result in bodily injury or death do happen, they are not as common as hit and runs involving two vehicles. If you’re the victim of a hit and run, there are things you should know.

If you were there at the time the hit and run occurred, try to write down as many details as possible while it’s fresh in your mind. What was the color of the car that hit you? Could you make out the make or model? Did you catch any information on the license plate? Give these details to the police, who will try to find the other driver, as well as to your car insurance company. It’s also helpful to get contact information from eyewitnesses who can corroborate your story and to take pictures of the aftermath of the accident.

If you weren’t there at the time the hit and run occurred – say, your car was parked and you discovered hit-and-run damage when you returned – there are still things you can do. Ask if anyone witnessed what happened, and if so, get their information. Take pictures of the damage to your car and of the surrounding area. You may want to go to the police within 24 hours to report the accident, as some insurance companies require it.

The claim will go on the insurance of the driver at fault, if they are identified. Otherwise, you might end up filing an uninsured claim with your own insurance – something we’ll cover in part two.

Speak To An Experienced Greenville Attorney

Do you have a legal question about a hit and run you were involved in? Contact Us at the Carolina Law Group today. We serve the greater Greenville, South Carolina area with Principal Offices in downtown Greenville and Greer in the areas of personal injury, workers’ compensation, criminal law, and immigration law. Call today to schedule your free consultation!


Mitchell Byrd received his Bachelor of Arts degree from Wofford College in 2000. He graduated from the University of South Carolina School of Law in 2004, where he served on the American Bar Association Real Property, Probate, and Trust Journal. He was also an active member of the University of South Carolina Moot Court Bar. Since being sworn into the South Carolina Bar in 2004, Mr. Byrd has focused on litigation, within the criminal justice system as an economics crime prosecutor for the Thirteenth Circuit Solicitor’s Office and also within the South Carolina Workers’ Compensation system.

Translate »