Legal Elite of the Upstate

A Veteran-Owned Business

'Top 40 Under 40' award by The National Trial Lawyers

Seal of the Million Dollar Advocates Forum

      

Call Us For Free Consultation

 

Search

Reporting Your Work Injury In South Carolina: What You Need to Know NOW

The Carolina Law Group > Blog  > Reporting Your Work Injury In South Carolina: What You Need to Know NOW

Reporting Your Work Injury In South Carolina: What You Need to Know NOW

Mitchell Byrd, Attorney, Carolina Law Group, Greenville, SC

Mitchell K. Byrd, Jr.

If you’ve been injured at work in South Carolina, you might be wondering whether there’s a time limit on reporting the accident, and if so, how long it is.

You Have 90 Days to Report and Two Years to Claim

In SC, you have 90 days from the date of injury to report your workplace accident to your employer. If you fail to do this in time, you risk losing the benefits you’re entitled to.

Separately, you also have up to two years to make a claim for benefits. That does not mean you can wait up to two years after you sustained an injury at work to report it. It means that if you have already reported your injury, and you require additional benefits, you must make a claim for those benefits within two years. 

Report Your Injury to Your Employer Promptly

One of the first steps you should take after sustaining an injury on the job (after seeking medical attention, if necessary) is to inform your employer. Depending on the size and structure of your workplace, that may mean telling your supervisor, your boss, or someone from HR.

This is not just a formality. It’s a crucial step because your employer is the party who typically starts the workers’ compensation claims process. 

What If Your Employer Doesn’t File a Claim?

Although it may be your employer’s responsibility to file a claim on your behalf, sometimes that doesn’t happen. Your employer may deny the accident or simply fail to file. Or you may discover that you’re not receiving all the benefits you were expecting. In that case, you will need to pursue the claim on your own, or with an attorney. 

Contact the Workers’ Compensation Attorneys at The Carolina Law Group

What if your employer filed a claim but it was denied? Or you’re not receiving the benefits you believe you deserve? Or you missed the 90-day or two-year deadlines?

If you have questions about a claim, a workplace accident or illness, or benefits, contact the experienced workers’ comp attorneys at The Carolina Law Group. They can help you understand how to proceed and what to expect as you navigate the process. Call one of the numbers below to schedule a free, no-obligation consultation to discuss your case.

The Carolina Law Group has three offices in upstate South Carolina for your convenience: Greenville (principal office; call 864.312.4444), Greer (principal office; call 864.757.5555), and Spartanburg (principal office; call 864.757.5555). Call today.

 

About 

Mitchell Byrd received his Bachelor of Arts degree from Wofford College in 2000. He graduated from the University of South Carolina School of Law in 2004, where he served on the American Bar Association Real Property, Probate, and Trust Journal. He was also an active member of the University of South Carolina Moot Court Bar. Since being sworn into the South Carolina Bar in 2004, Mr. Byrd has focused on litigation, within the criminal justice system as an economics crime prosecutor for the Thirteenth Circuit Solicitor’s Office and also within the South Carolina Workers’ Compensation system.

Translate »