How to Report a Workplace Injury
If you’re injured on the job in South Carolina and you’re covered under workers’ compensation, it’s vital to report your workplace injury in a timely manner in order to get the compensation you’re entitled to under the law.
Here’s how to report a workplace injury in South Carolina, plus how long you have to report an injury.
How to Report a Workplace Injury in South Carolina
Report your workplace injury to a manager or supervisor – that’s all you have to do. Your employer will take it from there and file a claim on your behalf to get you the compensation you’re entitled to, including compensation for medical bills and lost wages.
As the injured employee, you are not responsible for filing a claim with your employer’s workers’ comp insurance, the South Carolina Workers Compensation Commission (SCWCC), or any other body.
Ideally, you should report your injury as soon as possible, and in writing so you have a record of the date.
IMPORTANT: Report All Workplace Injuries Within 90 Days
The law requires injured employees to report work-related injuries within 90 days of the accident. While it’s generally better to report your workplace accident as soon as possible, it’s crucial not to miss the 90-day deadline. Failing to do so can result in being barred from receiving compensation.
What If You Have Not Received the Compensation You Were Expecting?
Sometimes, injured employees don’t receive the amount of workers’ comp they were expecting, or they don’t receive anything at all. If you find yourself in this situation, the best thing to do is contact a workers’ compensation attorney to talk about your case and what your options are. The SCWCC has processes to allow an injured worker to file their own claim or schedule a hearing, and a workers’ comp lawyer can help you with that.
Call the Workers’ Compensation Attorneys at The Carolina Law Group
If you’ve been injured on the job and you have questions about your case or the workers’ comp process, give us a call. We help South Carolina workers get the compensation they need and are entitled to under the law to get better and get back to work. Whether your employer didn’t file your claim, your claim has been denied, you believe you should receive more, or you’re just starting the process, give us a call! We offer a free, no-obligation consultation, so you have nothing to lose. Call us at one of the numbers below.
The Carolina Law Group has four offices in South Carolina for your convenience: Greenville (principal office; call 864.312.4444), Greer (principal office; call 864.757.5555), Spartanburg (principal office; call 864.312.4444) & West Columbia (principal office; call 803.881.1110).
Call us at one of our four offices or contact us online to schedule your free consultation with one of our attorneys. Our business hours are Monday – Thursday 8:30am – 5:30pm & Friday 8:30 am – 5 pm. Weekend and evening hours by appointment only. Our Greenville, SC law firm offers Spanish, Hindi, and Gujarati language translation services for your convenience.